Sketches 2

Drawing with a ball point pen is a MASSIVE PAIN (=_=)… But I shall persevere because I need to discipline myself into drawing tidier. This is basically and exercise meant to help me pay more attention to details, shapes and construction. I have a tendency to draw (and even paint often times) directly in volumes, by using shadows and lights and lots of messy lines, so the construction is often lacking, being rather suggested … and while that looks quite pretty for a sketch, it really does not help me when trying to shift to painting realistic scenes (my main preoccupation at the moment).

These are random people I drew on the bus and in town. I was hoping to do a lot more but the rainy British weather does not allow for such luxuries.

IMG_9421

IMG_9418 IMG_9419

In my defense these last few sketches were drawn on the bus, that’s why the line is all wobbly 😀

IMG_9423

As much as my pen was resisting this purpose, I couldn’t stop shading! which resulted in me spoiling what could have been a wonderful, tidy sketch 😦
… I also wasted an extraordinary occasion of drawing a person that sat still for 20 mins…

IMG_9426 IMG_9427 IMG_9428

4 thoughts on “Sketches 2

  1. Thanks for having a look at my blog and the kind comments, Elena. It’s always great to see the work of another voracious sketcher – I really like your on-the-spot drawings on public transport / around the house etc – full of character. Good luck with your illustration and animation career!

    • oh, thank you so much for visiting, Geo! 🙂 and thanks for your nice words and feedback, very much appreciated!
      I too wish you all the best of luck with your work!

  2. The use of ink vs. pencil works…long long ago my teacher in college asked me why I was on my third piece of paper yet no finished piece…told him I messed up the others and couldn’t erase everything…he asked if i had a ball point pen, which I did good old Bic. He said from now on that is the only instrument I want you to use in class…long story short it worked, every line i laid down is used…you get better. You have a pretty good style going , you will be lying down the type of work you want in no time. Love the blues!

    • That is exactly why I am struggling to not give up on it, your teacher was right! 🙂 Like you said, it forces you to use every line that you lay down, so you need to actually put thought in it and make decisions.
      Thank you so much for your feedback and support, Ken! I really appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

